Hilary & Tony Wheeler

Dear Rachel
Thank you for letting us know of the sad passing of our friend Bob. Please convey our condolences to Bob’s family and close friends.
Both Tony and myself (Hilary) have known Bob for many years,  though we had not seen him since a brief stay with him in 2011.

We are both reflecting much on how important Bob was in our lives. In short, had it not been for him, we would probably never have met, and shared a life together since 1972.

I knew Bob first back In 1966/7 at Sussex university, when he was finishing his degree, and I was in my first year. Enough said, They were heady days!

(I will let Tony continue, as he was a much closer colleague and friend of Bob’s in the BBC:)

Bob was a powerful  person in my life during my time living in London and at the BBC. He was unfailingly generous with his encouragement, his ideas, and his praise. We had great fun together, pushing the boundaries of both creativity and documentary TV.
I will always remember him and the planet has lost a Son.

Tony and I will raise a glass of good Australian red to the memory of our friend; and feel very sad that we will not be able to share it with him when we are next in the UK.
Please let us know any further details, and thank you for being such a good friend to Bob.

Hilary & Tony Wheeler

Leave a comment